The Commission on Ministry, which includes members from both the Dioceses of Western New York and Northwestern Pennsylvania, exists to serve the bishop’s ministry and, among other duties, to help the bishop raise up those with a Godly call to ordained and licensed lay ministry, so that the Church, full of the Holy Spirit, can “empower the saints for the work of ministry.” (Ephesians 4:12)

Commission on Ministry Members

Diocese of Western New YorkDiocese of Northwestern Pennsylvania
The Rt. Rev. Sean Rowe, BishopWilliam McLean
Ms. Catherine Way, ChairpersonRobin Murray
Ms. Beth BoronKaycee Reib
The Rev. Canon Cathy Dempesy-SimsCheryl Wild
The Rev. Karen GoughThe Rev. Shawn Clerkin
Mr. James HoltonThe Rev. Mary Lord
Ms. Shanna MatsonThe Rev. Richard Rowe
The Rev. Deacon Leann McConchieThe Rev. Larry Scofield
The Rev. Deacon Cathy SmithThe Ven. Gail Winslow
Ms. Andrea Szymanski


Broadly speaking, formation is that which shapes who we are and how we view the world. When we consider formation for ordained ministry, we are speaking more about an intentional process whereby we are shaped academically, spiritually, and personally in order to live more fully into the demands of ministry. In our dioceses, this process occurs in community and involves a great number of individuals, all of whom share the privilege of forming effective, transformational leaders for mission.

For more information on the ordination process, please contact Canon Vanessa Butler at 814.456.4203.

Deacon Formation

Learn more about our new joint deacon formation program that will begin in the fall of 2020.