This year, the business portions of the annual conventions of the Diocese of Northwestern Pennsylvania and the Diocese of Western New York be held on October 14 online. Local health conditions permitting, the bishop’s address, worship, fellowship and conversation will take place on October 22 and 23 at the Bayfront Convention Center in Erie, PA. This new model for convention is designed to ensure the business portion is completed, regardless of current pandemic conditions.

In-person components, including the bishop’s address and worship, will be available for anyone to view live online.


All convention participants are required to register for diocesan convention, including canonically resident clergy, lay delegates, licensed clergy, youth delegates and general attendees. There is no cost to attend the business session of convention or to watch the live stream of in-person components. Registration to attend the in-person portion is $50. Register online by October 4.

Pre-convention gatherings october 6 and 7 on zoom

Joint pre-convention gatherings will be held via Zoom on October 6 at 3 p.m. and October 7 at 7 p.m. Watch for additional details in future newsletters.

Joint Business Sessions October 14 on Zoom

The joint business sessions will take place online via Zoom on Thursday, October 14 from 6:30 to 9 p.m. on Zoom. In order to participate in the business sessions of convention, delegates will need a dependable internet connection and access to Zoom (see technical requirements). Clergy or delegates who anticipate connectivity or technological challenges that might make it difficult to participate in convention from home are asked to email

In-Person Gathering October 22-23

The in-person component of convention will take place from October 22 starting at 6:30 p.m. and on October 23 from 9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Bayfront Convention Center in Erie, PA. Hotel accommodations are available at the Sheraton Bayfront ($138/night). To make a reservation, call 814.454.2005 and reference “Episcopal Diocese” or “EDI” for the special rate, or visit this link:

Nominations Due by September 10

Nominations for the following diocesan leadership positions are due by September 10:

Western New York
Standing Committee – 1 clergy, 1 lay
Diocesan Council – 1 clergy, 2 lay
Trustees – 2 lay

Northwestern Pennsylvania
Standing Committee – 1 priest, 1 lay
Diocesan Council – 1 priest, 1 lay
Constitution and Canons – 1 priest, 1 lay
Deputies to Provincial Synod – 1 priest, 2 lay

Submit a nomination online.

Resolutions Due by September 10

Resolutions to be considered at convention must be received by September 10.

Submit resolutions online.

Annual reports

Annual reports from diocesan committees for the annual journal are due on October 1.
Submit reports to Gabrie’l Atchison via email.